## Congress of the United States Mashington, DC 20515

December 2, 2020

The Honorable James P. McGovern Chairman Committee on Rules H-312, The Capitol Washington D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman McGovern,

We write to express concern that House Democrats are considering additional changes to the rules that would be detrimental to the rights of the Minority party in the House of Representatives for years to come. Specifically, we are referring to the elimination or the raising of the threshold on a Motion to Recommit (MTR).

As you know, an MTR is a critical procedural tool that gives the Minority party one last opportunity to improve legislation before a final vote on the House floor. In fact, in the 116th Congress, just over 10 percent of MTR attempts were successful. These changes made a real difference and made these bills better.

For example, in 2019, when Speaker Pelosi brought a bill to the floor that required background checks for gun sales, House Republicans offered an MTR that required gun sellers to notify Immigrations and Customs Enforcement (ICE) of any undocumented immigrant who tries to purchase a gun. The MTR passed by a bipartisan margin of 220 - 209. This marked a crucial legislative achievement for the safety and security of the American people.

In another instance from 2020, House Democrats brought a bill to the floor that would allow private parties to sue public schools for racial discrimination. To improve the bill, House Republicans offered an MTR requiring that anti-Semitism also be considered a form of illegal discrimination. The MTR passed with 255 bipartisan votes.

These and countless other examples highlight the importance of the MTR and how this procedural motion not only increases transparency between Members of Congress and their constituents, but holds members accountable and forces them to go on record for the viewpoints that they hold. Eliminating or watering down the MTR would only serve to shield members from criticism, suffocate debate on key policy initiatives, and overturn long standing House precedent. We implore you to do everything in your power to ensure that the Motion to Recommit remains unchanged. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Ted Budd Member of Congress

In Chenez

Liz Cheney Member of Congress

CC: The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the House of Representatives The Honorable Tom Cole, Ranking Member, House Committee on Rules

<u>f</u>M

Ralph Abraham, M.D. Member of Congress

Brian Babin Member of Congress

an Bishop

Dan Bishop Member of Congress

MoBrook

Mo Brooks Member of Congress

Tim Burchett Member of Congress

Michael Cloud Member of Congress

Lotert B. Aderbal 5

Robert Aderholt Member of Congress

ames R. Baind

James R. Baird Member of Congress

Rob Bishop Member of Congress

Ken Buck

Ken Buck Member of Congress

en Cline

Ben Cline Member of Congress

men

James Comer Member of Congress

L.

K. Michael Conaway Member of Congress

John Curtis Member of Congress

Scott DesJarlais Member of Congress

Neal Dunn Member of Congress

IV 40150 an to

A. Drew Ferguson, IV Member of Congress

in From

Bill Flores Member of Congress



Rick Crawford Member of Congress

Waren .

Warren Davidson Member of Congress

Jeff Duncan Member of Congress

σ

Tom Emmer Member of Congress

-T., sola Clorks

Chuck Fleischmann Member of Congress

Virginia Foxx Member of Congress

luss Fulcher

Russ Fulcher Member of Congress

BI Mill

Bob Gibbs Member of Congress

Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S. Member of Congress

16. Margon H.

H. Morgan Griffith Member of Congress

**L.**D .

Andy Harris, M.D. Member of Congress

Jody Hice Member of Congress

Mike Gallagher Member of Congress

ance Hooden

Lance Gooden Member of Congress

Kay Granger Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

Kevin Hern Member of Congress

Clay Higgins Member of Congress

Bill Huizenga

Member of Congress

Bill Johnson

Bill Johnson Member of Congress

Mike Johnson Member of Congress

Chris Jacobs Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

red Keller

Fred Keller Member of Congress

Trent Kelly Member of Congress

5 Lo Muy

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress

Debbie Lesko

Member of Congress

David Kuste

David Kustoff Member of Congress

Robert E. Latta Member of Congress

Roger Marshall, M.D. Member of Congress

PI. M. Carl

Michael T. McCaul Member of Congress

Mul B. MIC

David B. McKinley, P.E. Member of Congress

Daniel Meuser Member of Congress

the Mooleran

John Moolenaar Member of Congress

au

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

Pete Olson Member of Congress

In A. Clax

Tom McClintock Member of Congress

L Kodger

Cathy McMorris Rodgers Member of Congress

caroe D. miller

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress

way + hu

Gregory F. Murphy, M.D. Member of Congress

aleh V Jouren

Ralph Norman Member of Congress

Steven M. Palazzo Member of Congress

Scott Perry Member of Congress

Guy Reschenthaler Member of Congress

Denver Riggleman Member of Congress

Hal Rogers Member of Congress

رەد

David Rouzer Member of Congress

Adrian Smith Member of Congress

Bill Posey Member of Congress

Tom Rice Member of Congress

and P. Lee

David P. Roe, M.D. Member of Congress

John W Rose

John Rose Member of Congress

Chip Roy Member of Congress

Jason Smith Member of Congress

Pete Stauber Member of Congress

Chris Stewart Member of Congress

William R Timmons D

William R. Timmons, IV Member of Congress

Timbalberg

Tim Walberg Member of Congress

Landy 7 . En dee

Randy K. Weber Member of Congress

Bran R. alan

Brad R. Wenstrup Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Van lay/or

Van Taylor Member of Congress

Jun Waque

Ann Wagner / Member of Congress

Talkie Walorsky

Jackie Walorski Member of Congress

Paniel Welster

Daniel Webster Member of Congress

Bruce Westerman Member of Congress

Rogen Heinuis

Roger Williams Member of Congress

Tel S. yoth

Ted S. Yoho, D.V.M. Member of Congress

Earl J Bddy Carta

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

Lloyd Smucker Member of Congress

Steve King Member of Congress

Louie Gohmert Member of Congress

Bolad & Willman

Robert J. Wittman Member of Congress

Diliti

Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

Andy Barr Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford Member of Congress

Billy Long Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Steve Womack Member of Congress

engone

Jack Bergman Member of Congress

Andy Biggs Member of Congress

en Calvert

Ken Calvert Member of Congress

Mike Kelly Member of Congress

(Isan)

Joe Wilson Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

J\_ Hogedon

Jim Hagedorn Member of Congress

Kevin Brady Member of Congress

Jarl E Green

Mark Green, M.D. Member of Congress

3

Michael C. Burgess, M.D. Member of Congress