Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Williams Recognizes Somervell County Fire Department

Feb 6, 2018

WASHINGTON, DC – Congressman Roger Williams (R – Austin) took to the House floor Monday night to recognize the Somervell County Fire Department Firefighters.

Williams’ remarks are below:

“Mr. Speaker, today, I would like to recognize a local fire department from Texas District 25, the Somervell County Fire Department.

“They recently had their annual banquet to honor firefighters for their bravery and valor.
This year, Mr. Matt Peelman and Mr. Brandon Fipps received two of the top awards for 2017.

“Matt was named the Career Firefighter of the Year and Brandon was selected as the Volunteer Firefighter of the Year. 

“Committing your life to protecting others is no easy task, so to both of these heroes, I want to say thank you. 

“Thank you for your dedication and putting for your life on the line to get every day Texans out of harm’s way.

“In addition to these two, there are many others at the station who were recognized for their courage:

“Nathan Huhn, Michael Laviada, Donna Owens, Blaine Stroud, Emma Turner, Jason Sanchez, Jerry Darnell, Ashileen Shepard, Brad Smith, Dakota Stroud, Trevor Crawford, Ben Welch, Fallon Wirsing, Tyler Brown, Kelby Bridwell, David Culp, Nicole Gilbert, Mandy Bradford, Kaine Popejoy, Randy Hurtado, Andrew Vance, and John Mark Thomas.

“Mr. Speaker, these men and women who serve their local community are a rare find, they are heroes, and I am honored to represent them in the 25th Congressional District of Texas.

“With that being said, may God bless Texas, may God bless the first responders, and God bless the United States of America.

“In God we Trust."

# # #